Para-cycling Pursuit & Sprint Titles Decided

20 Dec 2015

2016 Cycling Australia Omnium & Para-cycling National Championship
Adelaide  |   Dec 16-17

The scorching temperature inside the Adelaide Super-drome was matched with red-hot racing on second and final day of the 2016 Cycling Australia Para-Cycling Track National Championships.

14 finals were decided in the pursuit and sprint events, with a host of world and Olympic champions in action on the boards in their final hit out on home soil before March's World Championships.

EVENT INFO  Full results  |  Event Website

listair Donohoe (VIC) successfully defended his title in the men’s C5 4km individual pursuit, edging reigning world champion Michael Gallagher (VIC) in the final.

Good friends off the track, the pair has developed a great rivalry on the boards and on Thursday they posted another enthralling battle over the 16 laps. Donohoe took the gold in time of 4mins 27.194secs, six seconds ahead of seven-time world champion Gallagher (4:33.177).

“I am stoked, it was a good ride, I haven’t done heaps of preparation, so happy to come away with gold,” said Donohoe, 20, who added to his Thursday’s time trial gold.

“I always like competing against him (Michael) at Nationals, as two mates duking it out.”

It has been a stellar year for Donohoe with the Victorian defending his Para-cycling road world title and claiming a second rainbow jersey in the scratch race at the Track World Championships. He also claimed silver in the road time trial and track individual pursuit and 1km time trial and four World Cup gold medals.

“I think I will look back on this year and think about ‘that time when I was twenty and everything was all good’,” Donohoe remarked. “I am appreciating on how good it has been but I am still focusing on the immediate upcoming goals.

“Sure, Worlds and Rio are in the back of my mind, but I don’t want to think about them too much as you can get ahead of yourself if you do.

“So at the moment, I just like to aim for the small goals, like road nationals in January.  And then when track worlds approaches, and if I make the selection, I can wind up for them.”

London 2012 Olympic games silver medallist Simone Kennedy (NSW) clinched her fifth straight title in the pursuit, posting a time for 4mins 25.780secs in the C3 3km event.

The victory, combined with time trial gold won on Thursday, is even more remarkable given she was forced off the bike for the ten days leading in to the Championships.  Kennedy was rushed to hospital, where she received five stitches to the chin, following a serious crash at the Para Cycling Road World Cup in New Zealand two weeks ago.

“Considering this time last week I was in hospital, I am really happy with my result, and my qualifying time for worlds,” said Kennedy, who claimed four bronze medals across the road and track World Championships in 2015.

“NSWIS have done a lot of work with me this year, so now I just keep training and see what Worlds brings next year.  The time I did at Worlds this year would have got me to Rio, so I feel if I keep doing what I am doing, training hard every day, then the results will speak for themselves.”

In the C2 3km women’s final, Amanda Fowler (NSW) claimed her second gold in two days, recording a new Australian record time of 4mins 30.5888secs.

South Australia’s Darcy Thompson (4:09.891) clocked an Australian record as he added to his time trial gold by winning the men’s C1 3km final over Victoria’s Gabriel Bouris (5:10.655)

In the women’s C4 event for reigning individual pursuit world champion Sue Powell (ACT)continued her unbeaten run on Australian soil in the event.

Powell powered over the 12 laps to record a personal best time at sea level of 4mins 02.234secs to finish just over eight seconds ahead of Hannah Macdougall (VIC) who won silver in a time of 4mins 09.624secs.

“I was really pleased that time today, it was much better than I was expecting,” said Powell, whose unbeaten record on home soil across road and track events.

“The time is really positive, putting those times down, I was a second quicker than London Paralympics, is really pleasing at this point in the build up.

“I am looking forward to what is ahead, there are a number of women going really well internationally, so I think we will have to lift the bar even higher, but it is a good challenge. ”

Alexandra Lisney (nee Green) (NSW) took bronze (4:08.991).

In the C3 final, time trial gold medallist from WednesdayDavid Nicholas (QLD) collected his fourth straight pursuit crown, in an Australian record time of 3mins 39.643secs far too good for Victoria’s Massie Knight (4:03.258).  

New South Wales’ Gordon Allan (4:12.227) claimed bronze.       

In the men’s C4 event Queensland’s Kyle Bridgwood caught his opponent Benjamin Swain (NSW) to win the event, before riding on to record a time of 4mins 38.970secs. Bridgwood also claimed time trial gold on Wednesday.

Stephen Knott (5:36.939) won bronze.

The men’s Tandem pursuit final produced the race of the day with a nailbiting battle between seven-time Paralympian Kieran Modra (SA) & Pilot David Edwards (QLD) and 2014 world champions and title holders Matt Formston (NSW) & Pilot Michael Curran (NSW).

Less than one second separated the teams across the 16-lap final, with the South Australians holding the advantage as the home crowd cheered them on.

The New South Wales duo pegged back the time in the final few laps, however they ran out of track as Modra and Edwards won in a time of 4mins 17.929secs, just .42 of a second ahead of Formston and Curran (4:18.357).

“It was a big surprise,” said Modra, who has only been riding with his new pilot for a couple of months. “We worked with some strategies today to see which worked best. “We are excited to have come away with the win and in that final, it was as exhilarating as it was nervous.”

One of the legends of Para-sport, Modra’s career boasts five gold and four bronze medals from seven Paralympic Games between 1988 to 2012, along with two Commonwealth Games silver medals.  And he is gunning for an eighth Paralympic Games.

“I think the time I had off after the Commonwealth Games has helped.  It is the same story again and again after every games, you get that bug and you want to get back on the bandwagon,” Modra added.

Brad Henderson (SA) and pilot Thomas Drizners (SA) took the bronze after 2012 Paralympic Silver medallist Bryce Lindores (QLD) and pilot Mark Jamieson (TAS) withdrew prior to the final.

In the women’s tandem pursuit Lindy Hou (ACT) and pilot Kerry Knowler (ACT) grabbed bronze (3:54.517).

The Tandem Sprint was also contested with 2014 Commonwealth Games bronze medallists Brandie O’Connor (ACT) and pilot Breanna Hargrave (SA) taking gold over Hou (ACT) and Knowler (ACT).

In the men’s Tandem final Paul Kennedy (ACT) and pilot Nicholas Yallouris (NSW) claimed gold over Kieran Modra (SA) & Pilot David Edwards (QLD).

MEDIA IMAGES  Download  Please credit Cycling Australia

Proud supporters and sponsors